Operating Days at The Plains Vintage Railway & Historical Museum

Fares

Pre-School

Free!

Child

$5.00

Adult

$10.00

Family

$25.00
All tickets purchased entitle the bearer to ALL DAY rides on our train on the day of purchase.
EFTPOS is available on site!
We do not accept credit cards.


Find us in the Tinwald Domain, Maronan Road, Ashburton where plenty of Carparking is available.  Entry to the Complex is via Donation - We operate 16 Public Running Days from September - May,  with a Train operating (operating Loco subject to change)  rides every half an hour - from 11am - 4pm.  Our Museum Village Buildings are opened, with Stationary Engines and Vintage Machinery on display.  The Ticket office is located in the Station Building where you can purchase a Souvenir of your visit.  In the Station Waiting Room, there are childrens activities.  The Popup Playground provide inflatable fun for the kids, and Loren has her Coffee, Hot Food and Snack Trailer parked by Moylans Market.  Bring a picnic and enjoy the Tinwald Domain surroundings, complete with Playground and Duck Pond.  View our Facebook page:  The Plains Railway & Historical Museum for further information.


Public Running Days


Sunday 6th June 2021

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Vulcan Railcar RM 50
Vulcan Railcar 'RM' 50
Celebrating Queens Birthday Weekend! Great fun activities for the kids, Hot Food and Coffee available - view our Facebook page for further info: The Plains Railway & Historical Museum

Sunday 5th September 2021

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.
Celebrating all the "Dads" on Fathers Day who can ride FREE with a fare-paying Child!

Sunday 19th September 2021

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.

Sunday 10th October 2021

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.

Saturday 23rd October 2021

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.

Sunday 24th October 2021

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.

Sunday 14th November 2021

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.

Sunday 5th December 2021

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.
Our Christmas Market Day! Stallholders welcome, email: theoakleys@xtra.co.nz for info. Santa visits on our Christmas Express!

Tuesday 28th December 2021

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.

Sunday 9th January 2022

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.

Sunday 16th January 2022

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.

Sunday 6th February 2022

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.

Sunday 20th February 2022

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.

Sunday 27th March 2022

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.

Saturday 16th April 2022

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.
Easter Holiday Fun!

Sunday 17th April 2022

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.

Saturday 7th May 2022

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.

Sunday 5th June 2022

From 11:00am 'til 4:00pm

Locomotive to be advised.





Copyright © 2021 Ashburton Railway & Preservation Society